Attempting Infused Salmon, A Restoration Era Recipe

Yesterday, I sketched out my thought process on attacking a recipe without measurements or temperatures with relatively vague ingredients. Now, I’ve tackled the Infused Salmon recipe, I can say there are a few issues that need addressed next time. And yes, there will be a next time.

img_20170125_174434826-2

I enjoyed the herbal blend I used, but the versatility of the recipe allows for multiple different versions. Also, I used orange slices, but lemon slices would add another level of tart that could be delicious. I really enjoyed both making and eating this recipe. I love it even more once I realized that it was so layered and versatile.

img_20170125_173620028-2

With this recipe, the fish is cooked via both poaching and baking. A lovely mix that created a creamy fish that fell off the bones. And yes, there were bones in the fish. My dear husband bought a headless, gutted fish and attempted to butcher it for the first time. He got the spine and major rib bones removed, but the little bones remained. As the fish just fell apart in the juices, this was not an issue. But he has vowed to YouTube lessons next time.

 

There are two changes I made between my experiment and my finalization. I had to pour out about 2 cups of water from my original recipe, as it was too watery to be able to cook and retain the integrity of the top sauce. In the final recipe below, I have the correct amounts of liquid, so you won’t have to address this issue.

img_20170125_180952017_hdr-2

I could not find fresh anchovies, so I used canned. Fresh is the preference, so I recommend trying those if you can find them at your local seafood store. That said, the anchovies  I used provided a perfect level of salt and melted away in the sauce. I would make this sauce as a great topping sauce, as well. Definitely ensure it heats up to cook the yolks through, if you want it as a side sauce.

img_20170125_190545586_hdr-2

My recipe based on large salmon, at about 7lbs. Recipe can be reduced/cut in half to fit smaller fish with not much issue.

The Recipe

Salmon by Infusion

Ingredients:

Salmon-1 fish, defined, descaled, deboned, and gutted

½ cup-Vinegar

1 cup- Water

1 teaspoon Salt

1 Tablespoon pepper

⅓ cup of Sweet Herbs- I used Thyme, Rosemary, and Parsley. (You can also use any combination of Thyme, Rosemary, Parsley, Marjoram, Savory, or Mint)

1 cups-White wine

2 cans Anchovy

⅓ cup Butter

3 Egg yolks

2-Oranges, sliced

The Process:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Wash salmon under cold water, pat dry, and place in roasting pan or pyrex pan.
  3. In a bowl, combine vinegar, water, salt, pepper, herbs, and white wine. Pour over fish, keeping half for reserves.
  4. Add reserve liquid to pan with egg yolks, butter, and two cans of anchovies, liquid removed. Heat up and once warm, remove from heat and pour on top of fish.
  5. Cut orange slices and lay over fish.
  6. Bake fish for 35-45 minutes.
  7. Remove from oven and enjoy!

There’s a few ways to read this recipe. It is difficult to determine at what point during the recipe the fish needs to be cooked in the fire. One interpretation is the salmon needs baked until “when it is enough”, which is before the anchovy sauce mixture is complete. I decided to cook the fish after the anchovy sauce mixture is on top of the fish, to ensure the egg yolks get cooked. Below is an untried alternative version of the recipe. If you try it, let me know how it works for you!

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Wash salmon under cold water, pat dry, and place in roasting pan or pyrex pan.
  3. In a bowl, combine vinegar, water, salt, pepper, herbs, and white wine.
  4. Bake fish for 35-45 minutes. Pull out of oven and set to side.
  5. Remove half of cooking liquid to pan. Add eggs yolks, butter, and full anchovies. Heat up and once warm, remove from heat and pour over fish.
  6. Garnish with orange slices and enjoy.

img_20170125_191711573-2

Verdict?

The recipe was a creamy fish with unique layer of flavorings. The white wine burned off, leaving a subtle fruity flavor that is enhanced by the orange slices. The herbal blend provided an earthy note that was countered by the saltiness and subtle fishiness of the anchovies. We ate it with salad, for a light but thoroughly filling dinner meal.

My Dear Husband enjoyed this recipe and determined it’ll be in our regular rotation. He also ate an orange slice after cooked and steeped in the liquid. His words “Let the garnish be the garnish.” Otherwise, we were both pleasantly surprised by the rich flavor. And considering we have about 6 pounds of fish left over, I’m overjoyed that it worked out. There will be no leftovers.

I hope you enjoy it. Let me know if you do I’d love to see your results!

Alternative Substitutions

Original recipe calls for shrimp in anchovy sauce. I omitted the shrimp, but they can be added with extra ⅓ cup butter, in either recipe.

I used Thyme, Rosemary, and Parsley. (You can also use any combination of Thyme, Rosemary, Parsley, Marjoram, Savory, or Mint)

For a dairy free recipe, replace the butter with margarine.

Oranges can be replaced with lemon slices.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

