Upgraded Leftovers: Restoration Salmon Salad

Last week, I made a delicious version of Infused Salmon. As I noted, the recipe made a lot of fish. So much in fact that I needed to alter the leftovers to ensure they disappear. There is always a risk that they get pushed into the back of the refrigerator, in a hunted desire for something new.

So, today I melded new and old, and used my salmon fro last week. All in all, a success, if I do say so myself.

In Hannah Wolley’s cookbook, she had an interesting salad recipe that was reminiscent of some of my favorite tuna salad recipes. Typically, I enjoy a can of tuna with some mayo, onions, bell peppers, mustard, and pickles. So when I came across Wolley’s Fresh Salmon Salad, I was excited. Fish and veggies I can eat on bread? I’m sold.

img_20170130_152415223-2

Now, I must admit in her original recipe, she did not include any bread or sandwich elements. I’m using my creative license in the update. Here’s the original recipe:

To make a Sallad with fresh Salmon.

Your Salmon being boiled and souced, mince some of it small with Apples and Onyons, put thereto Oyl, Vinegar, and Pepper; so serve it to the Table: Garnish your Dish with Limon and Capers.

It’s missing many of the essentials we take for granted these days, including measurements and cooking times. But it has some of my favorite ingredients, including salmon, onions, and apples. I didn’t think this recipe could go wrong. And I must say, I didn’t manage to mangle it, something I am quite proud of.

This is a great recipe if you are on the go, or like I was, in search for a fresh way to upgrade leftovers.

I started by ensuring my salmon was deboned and broken apart. Cooked, canned salmon can replace the fresh salmon if you need a quick meal.

img_20170130_153718031-2

After that, I mixed my dressing. I’m not a huge fan of overdressed salads, so I made just enough oil and vinegar dressing to ensure a wettish texture without overpowering the supple salmon flavor. Instead of garnishing the salmon salad, I included the juice of lemons and capers into the dressing. The inclusion provides a larger depths of flavor within the fish, and capers provide just enough salt flavor without being overpowering.

img_20170130_154432266-2

Once your dressing is mixed, add to the salmon, chopped onion, and chopped apple, and you’re done! Easy peasy!

Fresh Salmon Salad

2 ½ Cooked Salmon,

1 large Apple, peeled and cored and minced

1 medium purple onion, minced

3 Tablespoon olive oil

1 ½  Tablespoon Vinegar

1 teaspoon Pepper

2 teaspoon Lemon juice

¼ cup Capers

  1. Break up cooked salmon and place in large bowl.
  2. In separate bowl, mix dressing by add oil, vinegar, pepper, lemon juice, and capers.
  3. Add dressing to the salmon.
  4. Mix in onion and apple to salmon mixture.
  5. Chill for about an hour, eat and enjoy!

Verdict?

As I said before, I was pleasantly surprised and delighted. It’s a light, lunch meal that will not sit heavy. Eat on crackers or bread. Maybe by itself. Or as a topping for a traditional green salad.  It’s a versatile take and makes a great lunch addition.

img_20170130_185819051_hdr-2

Let me know if you try and how you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

